Log in

Distinguished Clinical Research Nurse Award (DCRNA) 

IACRN is proud to announce the

2018 Distinguished Clinical
Research Nurse Award Recipient

Susan Hamer, PhD, Ded, BA, MA, RGN, FETC(Dist), NDNCert
Director of Nursing, Learning and Organizational Development 
National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) Clinical Research Network (CRN, Leeds, United Kingdom

Dr. Hamer is honored for her sizable contribution to IACRN’s core mission to promote excellence in clinical research. Her accomplishments are an inspiration to CRN’s across the world.

Susan is passionate about purposeful change and in particular the development of the healthcare workforce. As lead nurse Susan works with colleagues to ensure that the clinical leadership culture is vibrant and integrated across the large managed network which is the NIHR CRN.

As a committed adult educationalist Susan understands that a positive work environment is key to high performance. She has taken an active interest in the relationship between clinical practice and research and understands that evidence availability and changes in practice are not always directly linked. She has worked for a number of years within practice development and developing frontline leadership capacity.

A role as a national leader in the Department of Health Informatics Directorate persuaded Susan about the possibilities for technology to enhance practice and to support innovation in the development of patient led services. She sees the development of accessible information as crucial to this.

IACRN honors leaders in clinical research nursing who exemplify the mission of IACRN with the Distinguished Clinical Research Nurse Award. Selection of a recipient is through a peer driven nomination process which addresses the significance of the nominee’s contributions to clinical research nursing through research, education, collaboration, and dissemination of best practices.

Prior Year Recipients:

2010:  Clare Hastings, PhD, RN, FAAN

2011:  Jennifer Allison, RN, AAS, RSCN, MICR

2012:  Margaret McCabe, PhD, RN, PNP-BC

2014:  Mary Larkin, RN, MS, CDE

2016: Shaunagh Browning, MSN, RN, FNP-BC

International Association for Clinical Research Nurses

9 Newport Drive, Suite 200
Forest Hill, MD 21050, USA
443-640-1041 (Phone)
443-640-1031 (Fax)

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software